Crock Pot BBQ Pork Shoulder Ribs (that turned into Pulled Pork!)

TATTLE TALERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hi! I must let you know how incredibly sorry I am for having been so absent; I got sick AGAIN and it was a doozy. On top of that, I started school full time and it has taken a good portion of my cooking time! But, this weekend I was able to throw together a recipe for the record books. If you are like me, and want to BBQ when the weather is amazing (like it was this weekend) but don’t have easy access to an outdoor grill-USE THIS RECIPE! Now, I didn’t measure anything so this recipe is going to be a freestyle if you will. I hope you are all able to give it a shot and enjoy it as we did!!!

INGREDIENTS

2-3lbs  country style pork shoulder ribs (or any meat of your choice really; just make sure it’s boneless)
1-1 1/2 cups of chicken or beef broth (I used chicken)
A couple of Tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
Italian seasoning
Onion powder
Pepper (I used the Peppercorn Medley)
Garlic salt (I used Garlic Sea Salt)
As many cloves of chopped garlic to your liking
Your favorite BBQ sauce (I use Sweet Baby Rays)

1.)  Set your crock pot to the lowest setting-mine is a 6 or 7 qt that has settings for low-10 hours, I just turned it on to that so it would get warmed up while I prepped. Also, drizzle some olive oil on the bottom so things don’t stick.

2.)  If your pork ribs are big (mine were) cut them in half, then make a layer of ribs in the bottom of the crock pot. Sprinkle your seasonings and chopped garlic, then lightly drizzle with some olive oil. Repeat this step with a second layer of ribs.

3.)  Add the stock of your choice-I basically put just enough in to come up to the second layer of ribs.

4.)  Cook for about 6 hours or so, making sure (no matter how much you are tempted) NOT to lift the lid. Remember, every time you lift the lid you lose an hour of cooking time!

5.)   At about the 6 hour mark, go ahead and lift the lid, remove most of the cooking liquid (I saved most of mine and used it as my liquid for my rice), and add your BBQ sauce. Add as little or as much as you like. I added just a enough to cover the ribs, then I stirred them-this is when I realized I had pulled pork hahaha. After incorporating the sauce, add just a little bit more on the top and return the lid for 2 more hours. I had to just put mine on the warm setting after this, there was no need for it to cook any longer.

Serve and enjoy!

Now, I served this with jasmine rice infused with the liquid from prior cooking, and an epic salad. Plus, there is literally enough to feed an army; just tonight, we had pulled pork sammies!

Here are some pix–I hope you all enjoy and are able to give this recipe a shot!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 responses to “Crock Pot BBQ Pork Shoulder Ribs (that turned into Pulled Pork!)

Leave a comment