Poached Chicken with Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce!

And hello Tattle Talers! I must apologize for the delay in blogs-things have been hectic! Life happens and sometimes, cooking a meal is out of the question. This recipe however, sounds like something that would take all day but only took me about 40 minutes! If you like Thai food, I highly recommend this amazing dish-I received a rave review from my favorite critic (aka Boyfriend) and let’s just say…we’ll be having this one again 🙂 Well, here we go! PS: I gotta give credit where it’s due, and my BFF Rose Christine Landon sent me a link of 10 recipes to use Sriracha in-THANK YOU ROSE! 🙂

 

INGREDIENTS

4  6oz boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 2-inch pieces.
1  cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
4  1-inch
slices of ginger*
2  clov
es of minced garlic
1/3
  cup of natural peanut butter **
4  teaspoons of lime juice
2  teaspoons of sugar
2  teaspoons of Sriracha
1/2  teaspoon of Fish Sauce
2  tablespoons of chopped cilantro
Finely chopped peanuts (this was my addition)

1.)  Simmer chicken in broth with ginger and garlic, in a deep 10-inch heavy skillet, covered, until just cooked through (about 8-10 minutes) skimming off any foam. Transfer chicken to a bowl with tongs and keep warm.

2.)  Boil broth until reduced to about 2/3cup.

3.) Transfer ginger and garlic to a blender with remaining ingredients except cilantro and chopped peanuts.

4.)  Pour cooking liquid through a fine mesh sieve into blender and add any accumulate juice from chicken. (I didn’t do this step, I wanted all the yummy flavors!)

5.)  Blend until sauce is smooth. Season with salt to taste. Pour sauce over chicken and sprinkle with cilantro and chopped peanuts.

 


*I found that when I blended the sauce, the ginger didn’t get as chopped as I would have liked. I ended up having to pick out huge pieces of ginger because they didn’t break down. Next time I think I’ll actually chop the ginger as finely as possible.

**I ended up using more than a 1/3cup of peanut butter, because I REALLY love peanut sauce and wanted that yummy peanut flavor. This is the same for the other ingredients as well-I added more flavor to the sauce to adjust to my taste, you can do the same!

 

I served this dish with garlic infused jasmine rice and steamed snow peas-absolutely perfect combination. This recipe makes a TON of sauce, next time I think I’ll freeze some of it, or just make the sauce to pour over rice! If I had to change anything about this dish, it would be the poaching of the chicken. While it is the healthiest way of cooking chicken, I think I would prefer it baked or grilled. That’s just a personal preference for me-I think anyone could make this recipe their own for sure!

 

One response to “Poached Chicken with Spicy Thai Peanut Sauce!

  1. ok, so I didn’t forget your leftovers for lunch today! OmG, it was delicious! It was the perfect amount of spicy and the peanut sauce was to die for! Thank you for sharing with me! I want to definitely want make this myself! Love you!

Leave a comment